12 Days of Christmas Book Tag 2020

This tag was created by Falling Down the Book Hole.

I’ve seen a lot of blogs do this as part of blogmas, and I thought this one would be a good one to participate in for Christmas!

Merry Christmas and happy holidays! ♡

ON THE FIRST DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME: A PARTRIDGE IN A PEAR TREE

The partridge stood alone in the pear tree. What was your favorite stand-alone?

Do short story collections count as stand-alones? I really loved So We Can Glow by Leesa Cross-Smith, which was actually one of the first books I read for enjoyment this year.

ON THE SECOND DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME: TWO TURTLE DOVES

Love is in the air; who was your OTP?

I think I’m going to go with a classic for this one: I read the Fangirl manga adaptation and I loved it- I thought it was impossible for me to love Levi more but au contrare! He’s so adorable. Cath x Levi supremacy!!!

LEVI Fangirl Manga. Illustration Gaby Nam. Rainbow Rowell in 2020 | Fangirl  rainbow rowell, Fangirl, Rainbow rowell

ON THE THIRD DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME: THREE FRENCH HENS

In the spirit of trees, what is the best trilogy you read?

Can I use a trilogy that isn’t done yet?! You know what, I don’t care: From Blood and Ash by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Hands down, no hesitation, I really love these books. I’m desperately searching for the hardcovers 😭

ON THE FOURTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME: FOUR CALLING BIRDS

Since series usually consist of four or more books, what is your favorite series?

Oooooh, I don’t think I actually read anything with more than four books this year…Midnight Sun did come out though! It’s listed as book number five so I’ll count that even though it’s more like book 1.75. And I really did like it; I find Edward’s perspective more interesting than Bella’s.

ON THE FIFTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME: FIVE GOLDEN RINGS

One ring to rule them all! Who was your favorite villain/antagonist?

This one is tough because I don’t usually like villains; I’m more of an anti-hero or morally grey kinda person. However, I did like Ignifex from Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge. Before the end, anyways.

ON THE SIXTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME: SIX GEESE A-LAYING

Creation is a beautiful thing! What was your favorite world/world-building?

I think what Leigh Bardugo did in Ninth House was really impressive; I think it’s harder to take something that already exists and make it feel new and different. I’ll never look at Yale the same!

ON THE SEVENTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME: SEVEN SWANS A-SWIMMING

Who needs seven swans when all it takes is one good animals sidekick to make a hero rock! Who was your favorite animal sidekick?

I don’t think I read a single book with an animal sidekick. Or, really, any animal at all. Vampires in the Lemon Grove by Karen Russell has bats and silkworms. Call it a stretch but they’re animals…kind of!

ON THE EIGHTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME: EIGHT MAIDS A-MILKING

Milk is so 18th century! Which book or series takes beverages/food to a whole new level?

Ironically, as much as I love food based literature, I haven’t yet read any of the food books on my TBR. I did start Death by Dumpling by Vivien Chien! I think death by food is one extreme level.

ON THE NINTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME: NINE LADIES DANCING

Dancing is just one skill of a lady! Who was your favorite kickass female lead?

I didn’t particularly care for Deathless by Catherynne M. Valente but I did like Marya Morevna. She brought down Koschei the Deathless like none before her, and that was pretty badass. Honorable mention because I don’t want to repeat: Poppy Balfour from FBAA.

ON THE TENTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME: TEN LORDS A-LEAPING

Leaping lords? Who was your favorite leading lad?

These prompts are making it really hard to avoid repeats! I’m going to have to bite the bullet with this one because I really, really love Hawke from FBAA. This still applies to A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire 😉

ON THE ELEVENTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME: ELEVEN PIPERS PIPING

Where would we be without music? What was your favorite book or bookish thing that deals with music?

I have read exactly 0 books about music. However, I read the Frozen Twisted Tale, Conceal, Don’t Feel by Jen Calonita, and that’s based on a Disney musical. Plus, I wrote a post on songs from BookTok.

ON THE TWELFTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME: TWELVE DRUMMERS DRUMMING

Drum roll please…What was your favorite read of this year?

This one is easy peasy: Spoiler Alert by Olivia Dade. Any fat lit will always immediately outrank all other reads (and in the miraculous scenario where I read more than one fat book, I actually get to rank them based on how well they’re written).

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.